Sorry for the delay…

In about two minutes I will have officially have been away from posting online for too long.

And for a lack of better words, for a minute there, I was… lost.

What’s my direction?

I moved out-of-state, found a new identity in my work, and reoriented what it meant for me to be a person I was absolutely proud of. I set the course of a few relationships into life shaping friendships, got married to the girl of my dreams,  and traveled over 6,000 miles to get to where I am today.

And what did I learn? Self reliance is important, but pride should never block me from asking for advice along the way. I decided pretty quickly I didn’t want to end up walking to work in the middle of the night for the rest of my life, so I started getting my bearings straight. I worked out some of my aggression and turned it into a skill set. I plotted coordinates to smaller goals in order to get to the bigger trajectory. Results were easier to achieve, and in the end, much more rewarding. 

Ain’t she pretty. 🙂

I’ve decided to start this blog/press thing up again. But how will I make what I’ve learned into something I can keep logged in? I’ll start by making smaller goals and seeing where that takes me. Instead of trying to meet 100 people this year(last I checked, I got to about 30 people before it became a chore), I’ll compress the list to 50 events, not people, and set my compass somewhere that is truer to myself.

I will try to have a new experience every week – whether it’s big or small, so at the end of the year I’ll have achieved something more impactful in my life than just a few people I’ll have come across.

For example: going to Starbucks with good people, not just to meet someone new.

I can safely say I’ve found myself in a realm I never expected with a wife I never knew I’d love so much, and with a job that for the time being, continues to let me inspire and be inspired with the challenges it presents.

If along the way the trajectory alters a bit, that’s fine, but I want to make an effort to continuously reflect on the expedition and see where we touch down.

2 thoughts on “Sorry for the delay…

Leave a Reply

